Ladies and gentlemen, I have a couple of notes to share on the fruit leather project.
I'm not going to say that it was a failure, because it wasn't. I ate the whole tray of it. Now my mouth hurts. But OH MAN was it worth it.
You see, I made a few errors (which, btw, I did correct in the recipe post).
For instance, the fruit puree that I made was much too thick.
And while I KNEW it was going to be too thick, the impatience won and I just kind of poured it in to the pan all helter-skelter like. It ended up fitting in to 2 pans, a large and a small.
I, being me, put the larger pan on the bottom and the smaller on the top.
There's a couple of problems with this scenario.
Allow me to elaborate.
1) Putting the larger item on the bottom absorbed more of the heat and blocked the smaller tray from getting even heat, resulting in a too-dark bottom pan and a pan on the top that was dryer on the edges and still moist in the middle.
2) I don't feel like elaborating anymore. Just don't do it that way, ok?
Moving on to the good stuff.
It. Was. Amazing.
I don't even have pictures of the finished product because I ate it all.
One thing I will mention though, is that when using 2 VERY acidic fruits, be sure to balance it out with a little extra sweetener, or a more neutral fruit such as apple or pear.
Next time, little ones. Next time.
For now, it's time for me to both do some studying and price a fruit dehydrator online.
My oven is WAY too temperamental to use like this all the time.
(Like one time in the winter the element caught on fire and almost gave me a heart attack. It was a great time.).
ON TO PROCRASTINATE AND DO HOMEWORK AT 2AM!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment